When the Georgia General Assembly is in session, Public Education Matters Georgia will be at the Capitol attending committee meetings, following proposed education bills and continually advocating for quality public education. The 2016 Session will begin on January 11, 2016 and Public Education Matters Georgia will be providing legislative updates throughout the session. Be sure to sign up to receive these updates.

A brief history and overview of the Georgia General Assembly:

The Georgia General Assembly has operated continuously since 1777, when Georgia became one of the thirteen original states. In 1868 the state capital (and with it, the general assembly) settled permanently in Atlanta. The General Assembly consists of two chambers, the House of Representatives and the Senate, each elected by Georgia voters every two years. Elections occur in even-numbered years (e.g., 2014, 2016, 2018).  The Georgia Constitution sets the Senate membership at “not more” than 56 senators, and the House membership at “not fewer” than 180 representatives. With a total membership of 236, Georgia’s General Assembly ranks as the third largest in the United States. The Georgia Constitution also provides that the General Assembly shall commence session on the second Monday in January of each year, for a period of no longer than 40 days in the aggregate. Typically session runs into late March or early April because of formal adjournments that make 40 “session days” non-consecutive.